The penalties of driving an unregistered vehicle in Connecticut
Don’t get caught driving an unregistered vehicle
It is very important for you to be aware of when your vehicle’s registration expires. Even though the DMV sends out renewal reminders, it is not guaranteed you will receive one. If you are caught driving an unregistered vehicle, you will be fined between $150.00 and $300.00, with the possibility of having your car impounded, until you show a valid registration. Also, if you are a new resident to Connecticut, and you have not transferred your vehicles registration from the previous state within 60 days of arriving in Connecticut, you may be fined $150.00 to $300.00.
What if it’s suspended or revoked?
If for some reason your vehicles registration is suspended or revoked, and you are caught driving the vehicle, you will, again, be facing a fine of $150.00 to $300.00, your vehicle will be impounded, and you could possibly serve up to 90 days in prison.
So this is a friendly reminder, PLEASE check your vehicles registration, and make sure it’s valid or face the possible consequences.
If its expired, please visit your local DMV website for information on how to renew your motor registration. You can access the Connecticut DMV website here for Connecticut motor vehicle registration renewal.